Day 1 – A clearing and energizing start to 2010

1 01 2010

I’m starting 2010 and my personal challenge in earnest.

I woke up early today and headed straight to an early morning yoga class with Rusty Wells in his brand new studio Urban Flow. I’ve never taken a class by Rusty before but I’ve heard they are tough and yet leave you energized. So off I went. It is true – his classes are tough. If you’ve never been to a popular yoga class, they often have assistants who walk around and help you hold poses or better align your body. After quite a few Chatarunga, Warriors and Chair poses I was tiring. I found myself in poses with my leg muscles quivering uncontrollably and sweat dripping everywhere, which is highly embarrassing when someone is holding my lower back guiding me into a better aligned position. Or holding my arms straight while I’m trying to hold a Wheel pose (back bend), something I haven’t done since I was 7 and in gymnastics, and praying I wasn’t going to collapse on my head… But we are supposed to breathe, so that’s what i did. Breathe in… (1, 2, 3, 4) Breathe out… (1, 2, 3, 4)… By the end of the class, after the final savasana (corpse pose) and some chanting, I did feel fully energized. Sweaty, but fully energized and ready to tackle the rest of my day!

My place was my next challenge – Spring cleaning on the first day of the year, because, until you get rid of your clutter, you cannot move forward. And I want, no, need, to move forward. So, much of the rest of my day was spent on my hands and knees scrubbing my floors or folding laundry… And I have more to do tomorrow.

Coincidentally, in my Netflix arrival today was Julie/Julia. I have no intention that this blog, or my personal challenge, will lead to anything like what Julie Powell did, but it is inspiring. Everyone should have some goal – whether it is cooking your way through a French cook book, finishing the Sunday New York Times Crossword or losing those last 5 pounds – just go for it. What’s your goal?

So, off to watch a movie and enjoy a nice glass of wine… It’s been a good, clearing, exhausting, energizing start to my year! Day 2, here I come.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

