Day 3 – Resolutions

3 01 2010

The last day of a long weekend is both wonderful and sad.

It’s wonderful to have a whole day to spend it doing what you want to do without deadlines, meetings, clients, or email. OMG the email!

It’s only sad because we know that tomorrow it’s over and we go back to our daily routines…Or, in some cases, our old habits.

I’m determined to not fall back into my typical work-week habit of getting up, checking email, getting dressed, going to work, working late, coming home, pouring myself a nice glass of white wine, heating up a frozen dinner, turning on the TV and spending the next few hours winding down from the day before crawling into bed around 11pm… only to do it all over again the next day. Nope, this is a new year and I’m going to break my habits, well, as best I can at least!

It’s a new year bursting with new resolutions and new motivations. Gyms are busier than every with people newly motivated to lose the holiday weight. People are eating healthier. And everyone is more relaxed coming back to start a whole new year.

As for my resolutions, my personal challenge, so far so good! Exercise: check! Reading: check! I actually spent hours curled up on my couch today reading my first book of the new year – One Minute Millionaire. It’s actually a very positive and motivating book. The kind of book where you dig out your highlighter and make notes in the margin. That kind of good book. I honestly cannot remember the last time I spent an afternoon just reading. And loving every second of it!

I’m going into tomorrow with the following quote in mind:

Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.

– by W.H. Murray, The Scottish Himalayan Expedition (J.M. Dent & Sons Ltd., 1951).

Dreams!

Boldness!

Magic!

All powerful words. Words I want to live by.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

