Day 36 – New Neighbors (Ironside)

5 02 2010

My friends have officially moved into my building! And for whatever reason, I keep running into them. There are people I never see who live on my floor… Sara and Franck moved in 4 floors higher and I’ve run into them twice in 2 days while using the elevator.

At 9pm they had just finished unpacking and I had just made it home from work. A group of us, tired and dragging from the day, jumped into the car to grab a late dinner. We ended up at Ironside, a new-ish restaurant on 2nd street, after 21st Amendment declared their kitchen was closed before we could order.

Ironside is a sister restaurant of District, the local wine bar. The atmosphere is cozy and a bit industrial feeling – downstairs there were larger tables and I’m not sure if they are community seats or just for larger groups. We headed upstairs and got a table in the corner by the window. We ordered tempura avocado for the table and while the rest of the group ordered burgers, I ordered a cheese pizza and wine. We soon discovered that their sodas are not you typical Coke or Pepsi brands – theirs are made with Agave syrup, which is so much more healthy for your body… Good to know!

Bread with sweet honey butter was served immediately, which was fabulous. I think the bread is from Acme… it reminds me of the same bread Anchor and Hope serves. The Tempura Avocado was interesting… It was only lightly breaded and served with a wasabi flavored aioli… I’ve never been much of a fan of aioli, or any mayonnaise based sauce for that matter. For being late at night on a Friday, our food arrived fairly quickly. I take it the burgers were good as there was not a drop left on anyone else’s plate. The pizza had a great crust and sauce, but was a little bit too oily for me even though there wasn’t too much cheese on it… how does that happen? Is it the cheese or just a drizzle of oil on top?

Needless to say we ate and ran home to relax in our separate units. I’m so glad to have friends in the building!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

