Day 39 – The Bachelor or Facebook?

8 02 2010

I just had a debate with my friend Eric over the Bachelor show tonight.

Ali Fedotowsky — full name Alexandra Fedotowsky — made a sappy scene while deciding whether to stick with Jake Pavelka, after gushing about how much she loved him during her hometown date, or ditch “The Bachelor: On the Wings of Love” and return to San Francisco for work.

She chose work. At Facebook.

My friend, a single guy now living with his parents after a rough year of divorce, job loss and more (long story), argued that she was not really into Jake as otherwise she would have walked away from her job for love in a heartbeat!

My friend argued that it would be easy for a smart girl to find another good job in SF and she should have gone for love.

I beg to differ… Being a single girl, living in a big city, with no one else to support me, I honestly do not know what I would do. If I were one of 4 women, or even one of 3 as Jake claimed she would be, I don’t know if I could walk away from a job, my only known source or support for surviving on my own, my source of security, and my source of friendship in the city, for a chance at love. I really don’t know if I could do it. I would like to think I could because I WANT to find love! I would like to think I would drop everything to follow my heart…

But it’s really hard to find a good place to work where you not only earn good money, feel respected and fit in (I have no idea if this is the case with Ali at Facebook, but go with me here…).  And she had just started at the company a few months earlier, which would mean her resume would say: time at last job = less than 6 months. Ouch. That can work only if it is a contract position. If it’s not, potential future employers question if you are a good employee? Can work well with others? Can you do the job?

So, you ask me, a single girl living in SF, could I leave a good, security-filling job for love that I’m wasn’t 100% sure of? I would then think of my mortgage payments, and property taxes, and even my cat. I don’t think I could do it. Am I too practical? Too analytical? Too scared to take chances for believing this way? I don’t know.

So much of me wants to think that I would “GO for LOVE!” but I have a feeling I would follow Ali’s footsteps and “Go for the job”…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

