Smoked Broccoli Bake

2 01 2011

While trying to plan a healthy meal and use up the broccoli and tomatoes I had recently bought I remembered an old family recipe – some sort of nutty broccoli bake that I loved to make before moving to San Francisco. Somehow I forgot the recipe over the years and could not find it written down anywhere.

When I called my mom she remembered not only exactly what recipe I was talking about but also exactly what cookbook it came from – Victory through Vegetables – a cookbook she has had since before I was born which she purchased for $1.25. Today you can find used versions on Amazon for  up to $15.00. The book covers even have the price of $1.25 printed on the front cover. Amazing. I’m purchasing one of the used copies today for $2.50 plus $3.99 shipping.

Smoked Broccoli Bake

4 cups Broccoli
2 medium tomatos
1 cup plain yogurt
1 cup smoked cheese – gouda or provolone are my favorite
1 cup blanched almonds

Place all ingredients in a baking dish and back for 30-40 minutes at 350 degrees, stirring once about halfway through.

It’s so good! Crunchy, nutty, smoky… fantastic!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

